My College Experience


There has never been a time in my life when I thought that I would be content without a college degree.  From a very early age I knew that I wanted to work in some kind of state or federal law enforcement.  Those particular jobs require at least a bachelors degree.

After I graduated high school I enrolled at Cleveland State Community College (CSCC) in Cleveland, TN.  I spent two years there and successfully completed three semesters.  I did not graduate.  In the spring of 1998 I joined the Navy and was able to complete a few college level classes while I severed on the USS Louisiana, a ballistic missile submarine.  By the time I had completed my 8 years in the Navy I had amassed around 100 or so college credits.  I didn’t think much more about college for a few years.

In the fall of 2007, after working at the Bradley County Sheriff’s Office for nearly a year, I was assigned to a local elementary school as their School Resource Officer.  Working with numerous highly educated teachers gave me the push that I needed to re-enroll into college once more.  So I chose to apply to the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.  This was a bit of an experience.  While the instruction at UTC was good, their customer service and the advisers were a little lacking.  I was not impressed.  I managed to complete several more hours there before getting tired of the 45min, one-way, drive every afternoon.  I once again quit my pursuit of a college degree.

After a year or so the degree bug bit again and I started looking for a college to go to.  I researched online schools and any other school that would allow me to earn my degree at an accelerated pace, most of which cost more than I was willing to spend.  I began hearing advertisements on a local radio station for Bryan College’s Adult Studies program and after speaking with several recent graduates of the program I decided to apply.

I submitted my application in the fall of 2010 for a January 2011 commencement date.  Before I ever received my letter of acceptance a counselor was calling me to invite me to orientation.  I expressed my concern that I hadn’t received a letter yet and I was told to not worry about it and just show up.

Since the first night of class I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with Bryan College.  The tuition is very reasonable and the work is manageable and practical for immediate implementation.

If you are even remotely considering going back to school to finish your degree I highly recommend giving Bryan College a call.

Leave a Reply

